Waking up before the alarm.

So, we have been back to school for four days now.  Four new mornings that are a bit earlier than I prefer.  I even begin to think that home schoolers are not crazy at all.  They can sleep in and get all sorts of good, sweet, cozy, warm sleep!  But that is for another day…I awoke this morning 25 minutes before my alarm.  I hate that.  Its even worse when you wake up 3 minutes before-because those extra 3 minutes would give you all that your body and mind so need and desire.  Nonetheless, I was awoken.  If I am woken up in the middle of the night I have this weird kind of thought process that I need to pray.  This is partly because I know that when I am praying at night I am lulled into sleep and partly because I find this a good time to be undisturbed, not distracted and otherwise alone-except for the man or child next to me.

So, I toke this early wake up call as a time to start my morning off with prayer.  I first began with “God, what are you going to do for me today? ”  Now, before I finished that thought, I immediately saw the error of my ways.  I have heard so many times lately, and even on abcnews.com this morning, how people are blaming God for all that is wrong in their lives and in this world today.  Most commonly I hear, why is God doing this to me?  And I have to ask, what are you doing or have done for God?  Seriously, let’s think about this.  God gives you life on this earth, and in America, a pretty darn good life.  He gives you free will to make the choice to believe in him and be in relationship with him and benefit from all of his blessings and what do we do for Him?  How much of your life, time, energy, talents-all God given-do you give back to Him?  I am guilty of it.  As easily displayed this morning in my prayer.  So, mid prayer I changed it, I said “Wait!  I mean what can I do for You today?”  That was my prayer.  And then I promptly rolled over and hit the snooze.  Just in time for that extra nine minutes of mental argument over how stupid that is and I should just get up!

Mmaybe I did not wake up before the alarm at all, maybe I just woke up to a different one.

2 thoughts on “Waking up before the alarm.

  1. Yes we, (homeschoolers) CAN and sometimes DO sleep in especially those transition weeks. When it gets a little later that I think – I’ll pull rank and start a huge bacon (for sure), eggs, fried potatoes w/onions and peppers type of breakfast. See I’m the smart homeschooling mom type – I know that teenagers can NOT resist the smell of good home cooked food! As the bacon gets crispy they wander down half blind like a cartoon character floating by the smoky mist of the frying flavors. My other trick is to use our read aloud time while they are still in bed. I jump under their covers and start the (usually fiction or the Bible) story. Conversation flows about the book and pretty soon I’m suggesting they maybe….clean their room while I read too? Why not learn multi-tasking at an early age? Eventually they need to learn it. I can go on about the efficiency of working and schooling at home but the best example is in the book, Cheaper By The Dozen – yes, the same movie you’ve probably seen with Steve Martin but I must say the book puts the movie to shame. If your married to an engineer it hits home – BAM! I laughed so hard – It brought tears!

    God really is amazing when he communicates to us! As I read your early morning prayer, I laughed (I love the gift of humor God gave us) and thought about my night. Awoke at 3:30 with some pain and decided to roast those squishy raw slivered almonds – they really needed to be tasting better. Settled into the couch to read my fiction book but the Bible study called louder. This awsome study – Before The Throne of God by Carol J. Ruvolo kept me up 2 hours. It lead my prayer and in my understanding of God. Utilizing “open book” prayer we are able to stay focused on His will and His attributes – Colossians 3:15-17 And let the peace of God rule in your hearts, to the which also ye are called in one body; and be ye thankful. Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly in all wisdom; teaching and admonishing one another in psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing with grace in your hearts to the Lord. And whatsoever ye do in word or deed, do all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God and the Father by him.

    Thinking upon this I realize the nourishment of our lovely breakfast this morning is hardly comparable to the spirits “living water” and “bread of life” when I read – Galations 5: 22-23…But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, longsuffering, gentleness, goodness, faith, Meekness, temperance: against such there is no law. Now if I could ingest this and have these qualities emanate from my being and soul it would be a great day!

    P.S. The nuts roasting in the oven permiated the air and the warmth felt soo sweet in this cold winter night – you should try it…although I think your family is partial to skewered marshmallows?

Leave a Reply

