F2

F2?  Whats that?  Is it like Mach 5?  or G6?  No, silly!  It stands for First Fridays.  And that was what just happened in Adrian.  Well, everywhere, honestly, its not like no one else experienced a first Friday or anything, but let me explain.  Adrian, Michigan is where I just moved from.  Its a fair sized city in a rural county in southeastern Michigan.  Close to Ohio, but close to Ann Arbor, as well.  It has had its struggles through out the years, especially with the downtrodden economy and being in a rural area, especially so.  However, First Fridays is a way to illuminate the downtown Adrian merchants, area artists, local cuisine and an all out way to celebrate.  I am sure you have heard of it.  Detroit Institute of Art does them, Toledo Museum of Art does it, I mean why not a community?

In order to make this happen, you need a few key ingredients; planners and doers.  And we have them!  As I said before I moved away from Adrian about 7 months ago, but i am still the active President of the Lenawee Council for Visual Arts.  Also known as the person who know s a lot of artists.  So I helped out, in my own small way to get this thing going.  I was not able to be there for the whole night as the distance made it hard to get there early, but I got to experience a lot of the goodness happening.  Not too long ago I blogged about the Pewabic Pottery Empty Bowls event.  Well on this night, there was an Empty Cups event in one of the businesses, Classic Cabinets.  It was my first time in the showroom and I was really impressed.  I apologize in advance for my photos-I used my droid and I used a fun app called Retro camera.  Not the best of photos, but here is a peek at the Empty Cups.

And since we are on the subject of Empty Cups, I discovered a new microbrewery in Adrian!  This is totally new, the city has never had anything like this and it tastes good!  Its headed up by Mr Cotton, his wife and a couple of cronies.  I believe Mr Cotton’s first name is Jake (?)  and our servers name was Keith.  How do I remember his name so well?  because they served up free samples!  If you join their Founders Club, they will even create a beer just for you!  Crazy right?  And there was a gentleman serving up free samples of a delicious spanish wine.   You can see why I was not able to hit every spot in town, right?

Mr Cotton on the left and Keith in the middle!

Their logo and a description of one of their beers, the Blue Cactus Agave, my favorite!

And the wine.  Now that I think about it, maybe our servers name was not Keith…..If you did not make it to the first F2, there is another one coming for April, this one a bit more kid friendly and family oriented.  The planning is happening right now and I hope you decide to give it a try!

4 thoughts on “F2

  1. I got there at 6:30, came in through Bellus and met Cornelia at the Croswell-stayed a wee bit too long at the beer tasting, went to Persnickety, classic Cabinets, Lad and Vicky, Maple City and then had dinner at Sauce! I was looking for you, but thought you might have already been there and left.

Leave a Reply

