Happy Birthday to ME!

This past Saturday was my birthday. I’ll give you a minute to put it in your calendar so you don’t forget next year.  Go ahead, I’ll wait….That’s it June 16th….Great!  Can’t wait to see what you get me next year!  This year, however, my husband took me to the Detroit Institute of Arts to view the Patti Smith photo exhibit and take a pottery wheel throwing class.  I have never done pottery before and absolutely loved it.  It was so meditative and therapeutic.  Very much like yoga, and yes, absolutely no ego allowed!

 

The day began with the Patti Smith exhibit.  Her images evoked emotion and when you read the back drop of her photographs, like all art, you can appreciate it all the more.  No photography was allowed in the exhibit, but I found the one that was most emotive for me.

Jim Carroll’s Bed

Seemingly quite benign, but the this photo was taken a couple of days after September 11, 2009, the day he died.  His bed just slept in and unmade.  It brought tears to my eyes.

However, everything gets a bit more cheerful after that.  I, of course documented the highlights of the day for you and for me.

Matisse brings joyful tears to my eyes.  Seriously.

One of my favorite paintings at the DIA.

One of my top three favorite artists, although not one of my favorite pieces by him.

The above and below are pieces by Charles MCGee, a Detroit artist, and a very lovely gentleman.  I had the pleasure of working with him when I worked at a private art gallery.  Feels like quite an honor to have worked with him.

Vince hits right under Henri Matisse for me.  I try to emulate and copy him (you did notice the name of my blog, right?) but never succeed.  Just amazing.

 

Am I the only one who wants to start whistling right now?

The painting that Patti Smith spoke of in an interview I read about the exhibit….

coloring outside the lines….

My wheel creations, painted, unglazed and yet to be fired.  We have to wait like TWO WHOLE WEEKS!  Reminds me of what it was like to be a kid waiting for Christmas…

This is Eric’s creation.

Thanks to I-94 construction, we had a nice scenic detour en route to our hotel…..

View from my hotel window…a good, good birthday.

Leave a Reply

