A New Year

In the chaos and excitement of the holidays, my time, energy and blog went by the wayside.  I spent a lot of time just thinking about what I want to change this year.  I heard the question, “what can you do in 4 years?”  I found it intriguing, as there is so much you can do in 4 years.  I am hoping to compile a list of what I would like to achieve in 4 years and have it ready by inauguration day.  I figure that is a good way to gauge my progress.  Me and Barak can compare notes and monkey wrenches.

One thing I am sure of, that I intend to do, is start another photo challenge for myself.  It is  52 self portraits.  I heard once that if you want to take good portraits, you need to be able to take a good self portrait.  But, another reason is that I am struggling a bit through the self image/aging process.  I don’t mind getting older in the mental and emotional sense, but I am struggling with myself physically.  I plucked 7 grey hairs out, I know I am lucky to be 42 and just starting to get grey hairs, but when your hair is one of your best features and it starts to fade, my spirit wanes a bit as well.  I am struggling to lose 15-20 pounds that keep re-appearing and staying longer than I like.  So, this challenge is a bit of an attempt to get all Jillian Michaels in your face and start accepting what I cannot change, change what I can  and embrace it all.  That and getting a better grip on lighting and figuring out how my stinking self timer works.

Here is my first self-portrait, and yes, I know my brows need to be trimmed and shaped.  I have yet to find someone to do them and do them well around these parts.

_DSC0023

 

Happy New Year!

4 thoughts on “A New Year

  1. I was having dinner with two of my BFFs from forever just the other night, and one of them said that she wanted to embrace herself for who she truly is this year and to stop trying to be that “perfect person” — what a liberating thought! You’re beautiful, Kimbo — inside and out!

  2. you know I think self portraits are the best way to learn to love yourself as you are (and to learn to present yourself the way you want to be seen..) what a great idea for a challenge and one that I think will be an amazing gift to yourself!!! good luck!!

Leave a Reply

