Day 6, Haiti

I seemed to have gotten incredibly busy after I blogged day 5.  Working in ministry, the closer it gets to Christmas, the busier you get!  As I have been prayerfully considering and listening to how God wants to use me, I was reminded that I have left a work unfinished.

When I left off at the end of day 5 I forgot to mention a moment that seemed to sum up the dichotomy of which we live in.  While planting trees, we were at one home which had its own well and backed up to a field of corn.  The soil at this home was very moist and fertile.  As we began to dig, I discovered an earthworm.  I picked up the worm and held it in my hand and showed it to the village champions we were working with.  Their reaction, to me, was at first hilarious.  But then I realized their frightened faces held a true fear for them.  You see, they can die from parasites and worms that enter into I tried to explain to them that this earthworm would not harm them and that they were actually a good sign.  That earthworms denote healthy soil, but they were not truly convinced and not one of them was willing to touch it!  The things we take for granted.

In any case, our 6th and last day was spent checking out other campuses of Mission of Hope.  One right on the beach, used primarily for the school and during really busy times of the Mission.  They were in the process of building a conference center there as well.

Day6-1Day6-2

Day6-3

After leaving the campus we proceeded to the village of Leveque.  Leveque did not exist prior to the earthquake of 2010.  The Haitian government gave the land to Samaritans Purse to resettle people from Port-Au-Prince.  The village was planned for 500.  The Blue sided shelters so often seen provided by Samaritan’s Purse lined the hillside.  But those blue sided shelters have turned to homes.  Homes in groups of 4-5, sharing a well.  A school and a church have been built and there is a large community of deaf individuals that live here.  The community has already exceed 500 and, to me, it was a pretty little village.  All of the houses painted in bright colors with tropical plants and fruit trees interspersed .

Day6-6

Day6-7

Day6-8

People still using donkeys for transport.

Day6-10

Day6-9

The Haitian community is a vibrant and colorful one.  Although the people are lacking in basic essentials that we take for granted, they have a genuine love and joy of life that we rarely see in the United States.

People have asked if I would go again: yes!  What would I change:  the only thing I would like different, would to be connected with just one or two families for the entire length of the stay. I think relationships are what we are built for and designed for and what makes us thrive.  So yes, I would have liked to get better connected .

If you have considered a mission trip but are feeling intimidated, Mission of Hope is a great place to start.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

