India, 2016

Deciding to travel to India was an act of obedience.  When God told me that India was where I was to go to next He did not have to twist my arm, as I could only imagine it was a photographers dream land.  But what I was not clear about, and maybe by the time I get through the day-to-day processing I will understand, is the why.  Why did God want me to be in India?  There were other options.  In fact I had friends all going on various trips at the same time-each inviting me into their journey, but God said India.  So I obey, with no agenda-except hoping for some great photos.  So I am inviting you along on my visual and written journey through India and hopefully by the end we will all know the why.

The travel to India is not quick, about 30 hours all together.  Of course I started it out by blindly putting my more than 4 ounces of cough syrup in my carry-on.  Well done!  This was a pleasant catalyst for delays at each checkpoint all the way through 4 flights-including a small pair of tiny scissors that was in my toiletries, not detecting until Mumbai.  And just for the record-there were multiple times I actually needed them.

In any case, we arrived safely and were adorned with garlands of flowers and shuttled to CEM to gt started.   The air was warm, filled with various scents and held a haze, like a veil hiding secrets and superstitions.  Upon arrival at CEM we were overwhelmingly welcomed greeted with a child-lined pathway, singing sings if welcome and faces beaming with joy and expectation.  I could not help but feel embarrassed and out-of-place and completely undeserving.  What were their expectations?  What were they hoping to get from me and how will I disappoint them?  Because I am bound to disappoint.     Maybe they were just happy someone showed up, if even for a short time, to see them.  Because that is what we all want in our core;  to be seen, heard, known, loved. So, I guess we start at that commonplace.

20161103_160447

DTW

20161105_025205

Mumbai airport

20161105_025136

Mumbai airport

20161105_101604

On my way!

20161105_105214

India!

day1b

The welcoming committee!

day1c

Swag.

Leave a Reply

